Login - Become a member

Is nurbs dead?

Forums home -> Modeling -> Is nurbs dead?

Is nurbs dead? 
By SeanW on Nov 21, 2000 11:08 PM
I was wondering if anyone likes to model using nurbs? Does anyone feel that its a waste of time?  I've grown quite fond of sub-d and patch modeling and find that it achieves that smooth look just as well.  I realize everyone has their preferences but I just cant get the control I want with nurbs.
Re: Is nurbs dead? 
By Nate on Nov 22, 2000 07:00 AM
Never used them much myself, but then again I'm a terrible modeler who's never been able to create a decent human face :)

A friend from my hometown uses only nurbs to model organic things like that, and he could do a fairly convincing human head in 30 minutes (I timed him). I wish I knew what he did about modeling, I would be a much better artist that way.

Anyway, as for 3dsmax, NURBS aren't used nearly as much as they get used in SI or Maya. For animation they work a bit better I believe, but they're not completely needed. I've seen a damn well modeled AudiTT by Sergio Caires that was made completely with polygon modeilng in Lighwave5.6 ...completely accurate, and not a very high polygon count either.
By on Nov 23, 2000 03:28 AM
To my opinion, Max NURBS are extremely slow when you apply an UV-map on it. Youre better of modeling it with SubD's or SplinePatches.
By on Nov 23, 2000 07:58 AM
U┤re right Sean!
With nurbs modelling I could never ever gain so much control over what I was modelling as I did with polymodelling/meshsmooth or splines.
My favourite technique at the moment is polymodelling and meshsmoothing afterwards!